top of page


Trailblazers -nd brown_edited.png

NOVEMBER 12, 2022

Compassion, Commitment, Courage…Continuing the Legacy!


Gold Stripe Bacground.jpg
Gold Stripe Bacground.jpg
Celebrate Where You Are_edited.png
We Are Culture White txx.png
Untitled design (2).png

Learn more about the Trailblazers with the 2022 Trailblazers Activity Book and box of 24 “Colors of the World” crayons for $15. Or get a family 3-pack of books with crayons, and a TKAAM family membership for $95.
Sales tax not included.

Why We Remember

For more than two decades, The Kansas African American Museum (TKAAM) has honored pioneers who helped shape the Kansas African American experience through an exhibit titled Trailblazers. Now, TKAAM recognizes the perseverance and achievements of these leaders at its dazzling Broadcast and Streaming event, A Tribute to Trailblazers. Each year this event proudly honors a new class of inductees into an esteemed, established “Hall of Fame.”


What Is A Trailblazer?

A Trailblazer is a leader, a pacesetter, a pioneer, and each year we honor individuals who have made a significant impact in their respective professions. A Posthumous Trailblazer is awarded to those who have walked the path before us and given us hope as we move into the future. 

The Doris Kerr Larkins "Rising Star Award"

Doris Kerr Larking Image_edited.png

TKAAM started a new chapter at Trailblazers in 2019, honoring the legacy of courage and vision with the Doris Kerr Larkins "Rising Star Award."


Ms. Kerr Larkins and many of her family and friends led the charge in the 1970's to establish the old Calvary Baptist Church Building on the National Registry of Historic Buildings, creating a home for The Kansas African American Museum.

The "Rising Star Award" reminds Wichita and the state of Kansas about the sacrifice Doris Kerr Larkins made to preserve a historic piece of African American Legacy in Wichita.



2022 Sponsors

Hall of Fame Sponsor

Brogden Logo.png

Honoree Sponsor


Print Sponsor

Heritage Sponsors


2022 Honorees

Kevass Harding v2.jpg

Dr. Kevass J. Harding

Entrepreneur Trailblazer

ICT Cleaners

Lead Pastor - Dellrose United Methodist Church


Delano E. Lewis

Civic & Law Trailblazer

U.S. Ambassador, 

New Mexico State University


2022 (1).png

June Bacon - Bercey

Meteorologist Trailblazer

The First Female T.V.  Meteorologist,

The National Weather Service

RoyMoye Trailblazers v1.JPG

Roy Moye III

Doris Kerr Larkins, Rising Star Award

Creator of STEM Music

Spirit Aerosystems


Exhibition Sponsors

Docking Group .png
KS_KAAACLogo_Blue-Gold_PMS (1).jpg

Community Sponsors

Commerce Bank

Jackson Mortuary

Morgan Stanley

McClelland Sound

USD 259

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. - Wichita Alumnae Chapter

Capital City Oil, Inc.

J.E. Dunn Construction

Golden Plains Credit Union


Dondlinger and Sons Construction

Wichita Chamber of Commerce

Communication Federal Credit Union

Watkins Public Strategies

Wichita SHRM

Special Thanks

  • 2022
    Dr. Kevass J. Harding Delano E. Lewis June Bacon - Bercey Roy Moye III
  • 2021
    Wanda Parker-Givens Sheinelle Jones-Ojeh Dr. Larry Mitnaul Hon. Julie A. Robinson John Brooks Slaughter
  • 2020
    Carla Eckels Junetta Everett Hattie McDaniel Sam Ford Sharla Smith, Ph.D.
  • 2019
    Ms. Deltha Q. Colvin Greg “Hitman” Williams Gordon Parks Ebony Clemons-Ajibolade
  • 2018
    Dr. Alicia Thompson Karla Burns Elisha Scott, Sr
  • 2017
    Kevin Merida Connie Franklin Ron Walters
  • 2016
    Kevin Wilmott Kim Thomas Godwin Opara Father Mark Carroll
  • 2015
    Robert Brogden Judith Wencel Willie Jeffries Donald Hollowell
  • 2014
    James Hysten Fern Merrifield Van Giesen LaFayette Norwood Dwight Eisenhower
  • 2013
    James Reeb Dockum Sit-in Group Veryl Switzer
  • 2012
    Ed Dwight Cheryl McAfee-Mitchell Charyl McAfee Duncan U.L. “Rip” Gooch
  • 2011
    Angela Bates Lynette Woodard Linwood Sexton
  • 2010
    Ralph Reid Rosie Hughes Barry Sanders
  • 2009
    Xavia Hightower-Howard Shon Gables Cheryl Brown Henderson Rev Oliver L. Brown
  • 2002
    George Johnson Rudy Love John Allen Anderson Eugene Jackson Abner Val Jean Jackson Bernice Hutcherson Johnathan Wells Mildred Ingram Dr. William Burney Billy Randle, Sr. Jennifer Jones Chief Norman Williams Zenobia Washington Julius McLaurian Billy Q. McCray Rev. Jettie P. Dennis, Jr. Charles Doughty Dr. Donald Jackson
  • 2000
    Melina Banks Riley Banks, Jr. Jo Gardenhire Harold Cary Spencer Tolbert Cleo Littleton Terrence McDonald, M.D. Melvin Parks Josephine Brown Jessie Foust Val Brown Sr., M.D. Dennis Shaw Samuel Adams Judge Greg Waller Floyd Powell Vashti Lewis, Ph.D. Rev Kenneth L. Davis Curtis McClinton Bishop J.C. Gilkey, Sr. E. Ceasus Tyree
bottom of page