top of page


Trailblazers logo 2021.png

Resilience, Respect, Resound...the Journey Forward


Gold Stripe Bacground.jpg
Celebrate Where You Are_edited.png
We Are Culture White txx.png
TB20-21 Activity Book Cover.png

Learn more about the Trailblazers with the 2020-21 Trailblazers Activity Book and box of 24 “Colors of the World” crayons for $25. Or get a family 3-pack of books with crayons, and a TKAAM family membership for $125.
Sales tax not included.

Why We Remember

For more than two decades, The Kansas African American Museum (TKAAM) has honored pioneers who helped shape the Kansas African American experience through an exhibit titled Trailblazers. Now, TKAAM recognizes the perseverance and achievements of these leaders at its dazzling Broadcast and Streaming event, A Tribute to Trailblazers. Each year this event proudly honors a new class of inductees into an esteemed, established “Hall of Fame.”


What Is A Trailblazer?

A Trailblazer is a leader, a pacesetter, a pioneer, and each year we honor individuals who have made a significant impact in their respective professions. A Posthumous Trailblazer is awarded to those who have walked the path before us and given us hope as we move into the future. 

Doris Kerr Larking Image_edited.png

The Doris Kerr Larkins "Rising Star Award"

TKAAM started a new chapter at Trailblazers in 2019, honoring the legacy of courage and vision with the Doris Kerr Larkins "Rising Star Award."


Ms. Kerr Larkins and many of her family and friends led the charge in the 1970's to establish the old Calvary Baptist Church Building on the National Registry of Historic Buildings, creating a home for The Kansas African American Museum.

The "Rising Star Award" reminds Wichita and the state of Kansas about the sacrifice Doris Kerr Larkins made to preserve a historic piece of African American Legacy in Wichita.

Screenshot 2021-10-11 at 3.51.35 PM.png


2021 Presenting Sponsor


Hall of Fame Sponsor

Brogden Logo.png

Honoree Sponsors


Print Sponsor

Heritage Sponsors


2021 Honorees

Judge Robinson Honoree.png

Hon. Julie A. Robinson

Legal/Law Trailblazer

U.S. District Judge

District of Kansas

Shenielle Jones Honoree_edited.jpg

Sheinelle Jones-Ojeh

 Broadcast/Journalism Trailblazer

News Anchor

Co-Host of the Today Show


Wanda Parker-Givens Honoree.png

Wanda Parker-Givens

Civic Trailblazer

Deputy Chief,

City of Wichita

Police Department

John Brooks Slaughter Honoree.png

John Brooks Slaughter

Engineering/Sciences Trailblazer


Univ. of Southern


Dr. Larry Nitnaul.png

Dr. Larry Mitnaul

Doris Kerr Larkins, Rising Star Award

Adolescent Psychiatrist

Ascension Via Christi

Hills Logo .png

Exhibition Sponsors

Docking Group .png

Community Sponsors

Berry Foundation

Commerce Bank

Heart of Christ Church

Ted D. & Marcia Ayres

Morgan Stanley

McClelland Sound

USD 259

Martinizing Dry Cleaning

Wichita Chapter of Links Inc.

Watkins Public Strategies

Capital City Oil, Inc.

Wichita SHRM

Bethel College

Delta Dental

Holy Savior Catholic Academy


Dondlinger and Sons Construction

Gregory & Carol Cole

Amy Hamilton

Kanza Bank

Nigerian Association

Wichita State University

Wichita Chamber of Commerce

Communication Federal Credit Union

Washburn University School of Law

Special Thanks

  • 2022
    Dr. Kevass J. Harding Delano E. Lewis June Bacon - Bercey Roy Moye III
  • 2021
    Wanda Parker-Givens Sheinelle Jones-Ojeh Dr. Larry Mitnaul Hon. Julie A. Robinson John Brooks Slaughter
  • 2020
    Carla Eckels Junetta Everett Hattie McDaniel Sam Ford Sharla Smith, Ph.D.
  • 2019
    Ms. Deltha Q. Colvin Greg “Hitman” Williams Gordon Parks Ebony Clemons-Ajibolade
  • 2018
    Dr. Alicia Thompson Karla Burns Elisha Scott, Sr
  • 2017
    Kevin Merida Connie Franklin Ron Walters
  • 2016
    Kevin Wilmott Kim Thomas Godwin Opara Father Mark Carroll
  • 2015
    Robert Brogden Judith Wencel Willie Jeffries Donald Hollowell
  • 2014
    James Hysten Fern Merrifield Van Giesen LaFayette Norwood Dwight Eisenhower
  • 2013
    James Reeb Dockum Sit-in Group Veryl Switzer
  • 2012
    Ed Dwight Cheryl McAfee-Mitchell Charyl McAfee Duncan U.L. “Rip” Gooch
  • 2011
    Angela Bates Lynette Woodard Linwood Sexton
  • 2010
    Ralph Reid Rosie Hughes Barry Sanders
  • 2009
    Xavia Hightower-Howard Shon Gables Cheryl Brown Henderson Rev Oliver L. Brown
  • 2002
    George Johnson Rudy Love John Allen Anderson Eugene Jackson Abner Val Jean Jackson Bernice Hutcherson Johnathan Wells Mildred Ingram Dr. William Burney Billy Randle, Sr. Jennifer Jones Chief Norman Williams Zenobia Washington Julius McLaurian Billy Q. McCray Rev. Jettie P. Dennis, Jr. Charles Doughty Dr. Donald Jackson
  • 2000
    Melina Banks Riley Banks, Jr. Jo Gardenhire Harold Cary Spencer Tolbert Cleo Littleton Terrence McDonald, M.D. Melvin Parks Josephine Brown Jessie Foust Val Brown Sr., M.D. Dennis Shaw Samuel Adams Judge Greg Waller Floyd Powell Vashti Lewis, Ph.D. Rev Kenneth L. Davis Curtis McClinton Bishop J.C. Gilkey, Sr. E. Ceasus Tyree
bottom of page